List of Rulers in Sharjah

Sharjah, a 5000-year-old human colony with an oil deposit, has revolutionized the way people live and become one of the wealthiest cities in the world. After Al Qasimi acquired possession of Sharjah in 1727, the city was constantly ruled by a variety of kings. Every emirate has a King or Rulers, and the political structure is different from that of other countries’ constitutions. Sharjah’s current monarch is Sheikh Dr. Sultan III bin Muhammad Al Qasimi.

Sultan bin Mohamed Al-Qasimi (1987 to Present)

Years of Reign


1727c. – 1777Sheikh Rashid bin Matar bin Rahma Al Qasimi
1777–1803Sheikh Saqr I bin Rashid Al Qasimi
1803–1840Sheikh Sultan I bin Saqr Al Qasimi
1840Sheikh Saqr bin Sultan Al Qasimi
1840–1866Sheikh Sultan I bin Saqr Al Qasimi
1866- 1868 (14 April)Sheikh Khalid, I bin Sultan Al Qasimi
1868(14 April) – 1883 (March)1869-1983 jointly w/next leaderSheikh Salim bin Sultan Al Qasimi
1869–1871Sheikh Ibrahim bin Sultan Al Qasimi
1883(March) – 1914Sheikh Saqr II bin Khalid Al Qasimi
1914(13 April) – 1924 (21 November)Sheikh Khalid II bin Ahmad Al Qasimi
1924(21 November) – 1951Sheikh Sultan II bin Saqr Al Qasimi
1951- 1951 (May)Sheikh Muhammad bin Saqr Al Qasimi
1951(May) – 1965 (24 June)SheikhSaqr III bin Sultan Al Qasimi
1965(24 June) – 1972 (24 January)Sheikh Khalid III bin Muhammad Al Qasimi
1972(25 January) – 1972Sheikh Saqr bin Muhammad Al Qasimi
1972- 1987 (17 June)Sheikh Dr Sultan III bin Muhammad Al Qasimi
1987(17 June) – 1987 (23 June)Sheikh Abd al-`Aziz bin Muhammad Al Qasimi
1987(23 June) – presentSheikh Dr Sultan III bin Muhammad Al Qasimi
Share this post:

More to explore