India’s largest Cricket Stadiums

  • Post category:Sports
  • Post last modified:May 19, 2022

Here, the stadium is designed for national and international cricket matches including Test, One Day (50 over matches), and T20 (20 over matches). The stadiums are different in size, capacity, and design. Usually, the cricket stadiums are round in shape, the diameter varies between 137m (40 feet) to 150m (500 feet). Narendra Modi Stadium is the largest cricket stadium in the World with a capacity of 132,000, located in Ahmedabad in Gujarat State. Eden Garden Stadium in Kolkata opened in 1864, is the oldest Cricket ground its expanded and renovated many times.

Largest Cricket Stadiums in India by Capacity

Narendra Modi Stadium

Capacity: 132,000
Location: Ahmedabad, Gujarat State
Operator: Gujarat Cricket Association
Construction: opened in 1983 and renovated in 2020
Field Size: 164 meters x 152 meters

Eden Garden

Capacity: 80,000
Location: Kolkata, West Bengal State
Operator: Cricket Association of Bengal
Construction: opened in 1864 and renovated in 2011
Field Size: 66 Meters Radius

Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium

Capacity: 65,400
Location: Raipur, Chhattisgarh State
Operator: Chhattisgarh State Cricket Sangh
Construction: opened in 2008

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

Capacity: 55,000
Location: Hyderabad, Telangana State
Operator: Hyderabad Cricket Association
Construction: opened in 2003

Greenfield International Stadium

Capacity: 55,000
Location: Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala State
Operator: Kariavattom Sports Facilities Limited (KSFL)
Construction: opened in 2003

M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

Capacity: 50,000
Location: Chennai, TamilNadu State
Operator: Tamil Nadu Cricket Association
Construction: opened in 1916 and renovated in 2011

JSCA International Cricket Stadium

Capacity: 50,000
Location: Ranchi, Jharkhand State
Operator: Jharkhand State Cricket Association
Construction: opened in 2011

Ekana Cricket Stadium

Also known as : Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium or BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium
Capacity: 50,000
Location: Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh State
Operator: Ekana Sportz City
Construction: opened in 2017

Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium

Capacity: 45,000
Location: Nagpur, Maharastra
Operator: Vidarbha Cricket Association
Construction: opened in 2008

Barabati Stadium

Capacity: 45,000
Location: Cuttack, Odisha State
Operator: Odisha Olympic Association
Construction: opened in 1958 and renewed

Saifai International Cricket Stadium

Capacity: 43,000
Location: Saifai, Uttar Pradesh State
Operator: Major Dhyan Chand Sports College, Saifai
Construction: opened in 2018

Arun Jaitley Stadium

Capacity: 41,820
Location: New Delhi (Capital of India)
Operator: Delhi District Cricket Association
Construction: opened in 1882

Dr. Bhupen Hazarika Cricket Stadium

Capacity: 40,000
Location: Barsapara, Guwahati, Assam State
Operator: Assam Cricket Association
Construction: opened in 2012

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Capacity: 40,000
Location: Bengaluru, Karnataka State
Operator: Karnataka State Cricket Association
Construction: opened in 1969

List of Stadiums in India

Best StadiumCityState
Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium (Hyderabad) HyderabadAndhra Pradesh
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium HyderabadAndhra Pradesh
Gymkhana Ground (Secunderabad) SecunderabadAndhra Pradesh
Indira Gandhi Stadium (Vijayawada) VijayawadaAndhra Pradesh
ACA-VDCA Stadium VisakhapatnamAndhra Pradesh
Nehru Stadium (Guwahati) GuwahatiAssam
Sector 16 Stadium ChandigarhChandigarh
Feroz Shah Kotla DelhiDelhi
Karnail Singh Stadium DelhiDelhi
Palam 'A' Ground DelhiDelhi
Sardar Patel Stadium AhmedabadGujarat
Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground RajkotGujarat
IPCL Sports Complex Ground VadodaraGujarat
Moti Bagh Stadium VadodaraGujarat
Nahar Singh Stadium FaridabadHaryana
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium BangaloreKarnataka
Nehru Stadium (Kochi) KochiKerala
Roop Singh Stadium GwaliorMadhya Pradesh
Holkar Cricket Stadium IndoreMadhya Pradesh
Nehru Stadium (Indore) IndoreMadhya Pradesh
Wankhede Stadium MumbaiMaharashtra
Brabourne Stadium MumbaiMaharashtra
Wankhede Stadium MumbaiMaharashtra
Barabati Stadium CuttackOrissa
Gandhi Sports Complex Ground AmritsarPunjab
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium MohaliPunjab
Dhruve Pandove Stadium PatialaPunjab
Sawai Mansingh Stadium JaipurRajasthan
MA Chidambaram Stadium ChennaiTamil Nadu
Green Park Stadium KanpurUttar Pradesh
Eden Gardens KolkataWest Bengal

Share this post: Facebook | Twitter