List of Union Territories in India

It is an administrative division of India, which have their own elected governments, the President of India appoints an Administrator for each territory. Union Territories of India have special rights and status due to their constitutional formation and development. There are 7 union territories in India all of them are smaller in size, Delhi is capital of India and Union Territories which all of the central government activities taking place. The seven Union Territories listed below with Area, Population, Capital City and Official Languages.


Union Territories


Official Language

Area (8,250 km2)

Population (2011)

Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair Hindi, English 8,250 379,944
Chandigarh Chandigarh Punjabi 114 960,787
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa Hindi, Gujarati, English 487 342,853
Daman and Diu Daman Marathi, Gujarati, Portuguese, English, Hindi 112 242,911
Lakshadweep Kavaratti Malayalam, English, Mahl 32 64,429
National Capital Territory of Delhi New Delhi Hindi 1,484 11,007,835
Puducherry Pondicherry Tamil, French, Malayalam, Telugu 492 1,244,464